Undergraduate Students
The Genna Lab
Home
News
Research
Publications
People
Article of the Week
Courses
Links
Copyright The Genna Lab 2014. All Rights Reserved
Professor Douglas Genna was born in Bucks County, Pennsylvania just north of Philadelphia. He received his BS in 2006 from Haverford College working in the area of total synthesis with Fran Blase. In the fall of that same year he joined the lab of Gary H. Posner at The Johns Hopkins University, where he studied chirality transfer in allylic substitution chemistry and the copper mediated conversion of  carboxylic acids into a ketones. In December 2011, he defended his thesis and joined the lab of Melanie S. Sanford at the University of Michigan in January 2012 for his postdoctoral studies. In the Sanford lab he studied the heterogenization of homogeneous catalysts inside Metal-Organic Frameworks. After two and half years in Ann Arbor he joined the faculty at Youngstown State University in August 2014.
 
In his spare time Doug enjoys a good game of ping pong with his family. 
Douglas T Genna
Email: dtgenna@ysu.edu
Phone: 330-941-2261
Office: Ward-Beecher 5009
Principal Investigator
Graduate Students
J.J. Mihaly
Email: jjmihaly@student.ysu.edu
B.S. Chemistry 2014 Youngstown State University
Advisor: Peter Norris
 
Project: Template Controlled Synthesis of Metal Organic Frameworks
Joined: August 2014
I am always looking for highly motivated graduate and undergraduate students who are interested in pursuing research in my laboratory. If you are interested in joining our team please make an appointment to meet with me so we can discuss opportunities in the group.
Tyler Pabst
Email: tpabst@student.ysu.edu
 
Project:Carbon Dioxide Acitvation
Joined: December 2014
Michael Bellas
Email: mkbellas@student.ysu.edu
 
Project: Template Controlled Synthesis of MOFs
Joined: December 2014
Mariah DeFuria
Email: mddefuria01@student.ysu.edu
 
Project: Synthesis of Fluorinated MOFs
Joined: December 2014
Joseph Strozier
Email: jlstrozier@student.ysu.edu
 
Project: Synthesis of Anionic Gallium MOFs
Joined: April 2015
Picture coming soon!
Marisa DeSanto
Email: mjdesanto@student.ysu.edu
 
Project: Synthesis of Thiele's Acid MOFs
Joined: August 2015
Picture coming soon!
Naseem Amirmokhtari
Email: namirmokhtari01@student.ysu.edu
 
Project: Synthesis of partially halogenated In MOFs 
Joined: August 2015
Picture coming soon!